top of page
  • Writer's pictureDawn Robinson-Walsh

Decades ...

Somehow I am 60, despite still feeling decades younger in my head (less so in my body).


Those big birthdays are a shock to the system. Generally, I've always hit the decades in the same old way - I've left the country.


At 30, I went to Moreac, Brittany, drank champagne and ate Far Breton with friends, child-less.

At 40, I went to the south coast of Brittany, by this time a mother of four, and saw the same friends!

At 50, I went to a glass fronted house in Dingle, Ireland, with family, by now a mother of five.

At 60, I went to Nice, child-free, with a friend. Funny how circular life is.


60 in Nice means ice cream and beer on the beach


You get the gist. Not for me the big parties, the screaming celebrations, the noise and the people; extrovert is not my persona. Actually, I've not minded my big birthdays, not really. They are never as bad as I have been led to believe.


At 30, I had no children.

At 40, I had four,

At 50, I had five.

At 60, they'd all miraculously survived and become adults.


Anyway, I enjoyed all the celebrations, so here's a few photos from the latest in Nice!


Nice has a rather grand old feel to it, from its days as a destination on the Grand Tour. It had a sizeable British population in the early 1800s, lovers of the mild climate; hence, the custom-built Promenade des Anglais, a seaside esplanade. It is compact enough to walk far, gaining a real feel.


Russians were also among the early visitors; hence, the Orthodox Cathedral, largest in Western Europe and a fine building.


It feels rather Italian in places, with wonderful quarters to visit such as Castle Hill, the old city, and the marina. The shimmering sea is a huge plus, as is the proximity to the airport. The market is wonderful - olives, mussels, lavender, soap, nougat, and more. Here's a slideshow of photos ...

















16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page